LA update

As I mentioned in this post, I traveled to LA the other weekend. I was not as good about taking photos as I wanted while there, but I did check out some new places that I would like to share.

Lemonade – My original plan was to eat at Gjelinas on Abbot Kinney Blvd in Venice Beach, but by the time we got there, which was only 6pm, there was a one hour wait and we were famished. So instead we went down the street and checked out Lemonade. It is a cafeteria style restaurant with lots of salad and sandwich options. The place was low key and very affordable. I had the three cheese macaroni and butter lettuce salad with grapefruit and radish. I ended up very happy with the last minute choice and especially with the money saved. 

Akasha Cafe – It was the middle of the day and I was in need of some coffee and sun. The day we went to Venice Beach was overcast and chilly. We drove inland to Culver City for a much needed sun break. There was a nice little seating area outside and the decor was very minimal and stylish. I ordered the mocha with almond milk. The fact that they had almond milk was the most exciting thing to me. The drink was delicious and I am always happy to support local coffee houses.

This next spot is not in LA, but if you ever drive the 101 you will be familiar with this restaurant. I can’t count how many times I have driven past the sign for Anderson’s Pea Soup. But this time on the way home and hungry for dinner we decided to make the stop. There is a large gift boutique and bakery that you walk through before making it to the actual restaurant. It was a little kitschy, but the food was actually pretty good and I was glad to finally try the famous pea soup!

Here are a few photos from Abbot Kinney Blvd

Abbot Kinney Venice Beach

Abbot Kinney Venice Beach

Abbot Kinney Venice Beach

Have a great weekend everyone!

2 thoughts on “LA update

Add yours

  1. I have been to Andersons Pea Soup for a company holiday party about 13 years ago…There is a banquet area where we all partied the night away! Seems like an odd venue for a party but I do remember wearing a retro green shiny dress of my moms! Can’t remember if I actually tried the soup…next time!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

